The Executive Board of Ghana Athletics Association [GAA] has expressed its profound gratitude and appreciation to the athletes who competed for the nation in the just ended Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games in Japan.

“You represented Ghana well and comported yourselves in a manner that drew praise from both within and outside Ghana,” a letter signed by the Chief Executive Officer of GAA [Bawa Fuseini] on Monday read.

The letter also acknowledged the coaches who helped in putting the athletes into good shape ahead, and during the Tokyo Games:

“To coaches Julius Apidogo and Prof. Andrew Owusu we salute you too for guiding our cherished athletes this time around in direct consultation with Prof. Christian Nsiah, Jaimie Wilson, Leonard Myles-Mills and Eric Nkansah. To the personal coach[es] and support staff of each one of our athletes, we say a big thank you.”

“To the Hon Minister Ministry of Youth and Sports [MOYS] Hon Mustafa Ussif, the Director General National Sports Authority [NSA] Prof. Peter Twumasi, Ghana Olympic Committee, and all of GAA’s organizational partners in and outside of Ghana, we say gracias!

“And to our media partners we say a big thank you for being the eyes and ears through which Ghanaians have the opportunity to see and hear from these gallant and cherished athletes in action in Tokyo.”

Ghana’s footprint at Tokyo 2020 Olympics

Despite not winning a medal, Ghana’s 4x100m quartet [Sean Sarfo-Antwi, Benjamin Azamati-Kwaku, Emmanuel Yeboah, and Joseph Paul Amoah] achieved a great milestone at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Competing in heat 2, Team Ghana finished fifth [38.08], a new national record in what was probably the greatest quality 4x100m heat in history. It was a cracking race with China just winning by two thousandths of a second in 37.916 to Canada’s 37.918.

In fact, the last time Ghana reached the 4x100m final was at the Atlanta 96 Games.

Besides that, Joseph Paul Amoah reached the semifinal phase of the men’s 200m event.

Ghana’s athletics team – Nadia Eke, Joseph Amoah, Benjamin Azamati, Sarfo Ansah, Sean Safo-Antwi, Joseph Oduro Manu, and Emmanuel Yeboah.