Olympic and two-time world 400m gold medallist Christine Ohuruogu was among the eight greats inducted into the England Athletics hall of fame at an awards ceremony in Birmingham on Saturday.

Sponsored by Track & Field Tours, the 12th edition of the annual event also incorporated the National Volunteer Awards.

Reflecting on her career, Ohuruogu said: “It has been such a long career, there is no one particular highlight, there have been so many.

“The relays were always a lot of fun – it was nice to have people around you and to get to the podium and celebrate with other people.

“I retired last year and prior to retiring I’d been doing a degree and I just graduated this summer. I’ve still been following athletics, and watching athletes, and staying in touch with athletes and I’ll try and help wherever I can.”

Also announced as joining the hall of fame were fellow former athletes Kelly Sotherton, the three-time Olympic medallist in the heptathlon and 4x400m, and Phillips Idowu, who was crowned world, world indoor, European indoor and Commonwealth triple jump champion during his career.

There was also recognition for coach Jenny Archer, athlete turned BBC commentator and coach Paul Dickenson, former British 400m record-holder Robbie Brightwell, Olympic steeplechase medallist Mark Rowland and the late great Willie Applegart, a sprint legend of the early 1900s who won 1912 Olympic gold in the 4x100m and bronze in the 200m.

Volunteer award winners included Liz Sissons (South East – Epsom & Ewell Harriers) as coach of the year and Kevin Diedrick (London – Woodford Green AC with Essex Ladies) as official of the year.

The club of the year honour went to Doncaster Athletic Club.

Ron Pickering Memorial Fund awards were announced, with Jean Pickering young athletes of 2019 named as Jemma Reekie from Kilbarchan AAC (U23), Josh Zeller from Michigan University and Bracknell AC (U20) and Amy Hunt from Charnwood AC (U18).

Source: AW