Sprint immortal, Elaine Thompson-Herah has been named one of the five finalists for female athlete of the year.

The Banana Ground native had a phenomenal season having won three gold medals – 100m, 200m, and 4x100m relay at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Thompson-Herah’s 10.61 seconds finish in the women’s 100m final [Tokyo 2020] is the fastest in the history of the Olympics, ahead of Florence Griffith-Joyner’s time of 10.62 seconds set at the 1988 Olympics. She’s the only woman to win the Olympic sprint double on two occasions having done it in Rio 2016 and the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

The Jamaican sprinter lowered her personal best to 10.54 seconds, becoming the fastest woman alive at the Prefontaine Classic in Eugene, Oregon on Saturday, August 21.

Thompson-Herah has been nominated for the award alongside Dutch distance runner, Sifan Hassan, American hurdler, Sydney McLaughlin, Venezuelan Triple Jumper, Yulimar Rojas and Kenyan middle-distance specialist, Faith Kipyegon.

Hassan won the 5000, 10,000 metres double in Tokyo and also broke the 10,000 metres world record this season.

McLaughlin set two new world records in the women’s 400 metres hurdles on her way to winning gold in Tokyo.

Rojas set a new triple jump world record to win gold in Tokyo, and Kipyegon set a new Kenyan record in the women’s 1500 metres while also winning gold in Tokyo.

The winner will be announced at the World Athletics Awards to be held virtually on December 1st.

By James K. Attaglo Wilson


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here