Zambian Clatous Chama has been named the Most Valuable Player [MVP] of the 2019-20 season in the Tanzanian Premier League.

The former Zesco United and Lusaka Dynamos midfielder, nicknamed ‘Triple C’ has enjoyed his best form with Simba in the just concluded campaign where he contributed directly to 10 goals in the league, scoring two and assisting eight.

He was also a key member of the Simba squad that completed a domestic sweep with victory in the Community Shield and the FA Cup.

To clinch the coveted crown, Chama, fondly referred to as ‘The rock of Lusaka’ by Simba faithful edged out Coastal Union defender Bakari Mwamnyeto and Azam FC’s Ugandan import Nico Wadada.

“It was a difficulty season for me. There has been a lot of criticism but I thank a lot of people that were encouraging me to perform well. I appreciate the support from the team and all I won is because of the team that I have,” an excited Chama said as he picked up his award at a glamorous event staged at the Milimani City in Dar.

To add the cherry on the cake, Chama was also named midfielder of the season, beating Namungo FC’s Lucas Kikoti and and Yanga’s Balama Mapinduzi.

It proved to be a big night for Simba as their number on shot stopper Aishi Manula scooped goalkeeper of the year award edging out Biashara United goalie Daniel Mgore and Namungo’s Nourdine Balora.

Experienced Rwandese forward Meddie Kagere collected his golden boot crown while Belgian tactician Sven Vandenbroeck who joined the team at the beginning of the season was named coach of the year.

Meanwhile, six of Simba’s players; Manula, defender Pascal Wawa, Chama, Kagere, Mozambican Luis Miqquisone and skipper John Raphael Bocco were named in the season’s best XI.

Azam’s Wadada was named defender of the season while Novatus Dismas of Biashara United was named Young Player of the season.

Referee Ramadhan Kayoko who became the youngest ever to officiate the highly charged Yanga vs Simba derby was awarded as the best centre referee with Frank Komba getting the assistant referee of the year award.

Source: CAF