Tanzania head coach, Kim Paulsen has named 28 players ahead of the FIFA World Cup Group J qualifiers on 2nd and 7th of September.

Tanzania will start the campaign away to Democratic Republic of Congo before hosting Madagascar at Benjamin Mkapa Stadium, Dar es Salaam five days later.

Paulsen recalled most of the experienced players but included also a number of youngsters that won the CECAFA U23 Challenge Cup in Ethiopia last month.

After failed to qualify for the African Cup of Nations [AFCON], Tanzania looks forward to impress in the World Cup qualifiers, with Paulsen insists that they might play one international friendly before departing to DRC.

“A new journey starts today. We have qualifiers for the World Cup in September and October. We will begin the camp on 24th, that means we have five days to prepare before we travel,” said Paulsen.

“We had mixed upcoming players in the squad so that they can learn and get experience. We need to groom them for the future of the national team.

“When you play a World Cup qualifier away, with the opponent like DR Congo, a team with a lot of experienced players, you need to be very careful. That’s why I included a number of experienced players too that can keep the fight on,” he added.

“I suggested to the Tanzania Football Federation that we play one international friendly before we depart to DRC. They are still looking for the opponent, and hopefully we will get one,” said Paulsen.

Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Aishi Manula [Simba SC], Metacha Mnata [Unattached], Ramadhan Kabwili [Young Africans] and Wilbol Maseke [Azam FC].

Defenders: Shomary Kapombe, Israel Mwenda, Mohammed Hussein, Erasto Nyoni and Kenned Wilson [Simba SC], Bakari Mwamnyeto, Dickson Job [Young Africans], Lusajo Mwaikenda [KMC], Nickson Kibabage [Youssofia, Morocco].

Midfielders: Mudathir Yahya, Salum Abubakar, Ayoub Lyanga, Abdulrazack Mohammed [Azam FC], Zawadi Mauya, Feisal Salum [Young Africans], Mzamiru Yassin [Simba SC], Novatus Dismas (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel), Abdul Suleiman [Coastal Union].

Forwards: Simon Msuva [Wydad Club, Morocco], Mbwana Samatta [Fenerbahce, Turkey], John Bocco [Simba SC], Meshack Mwamita [Gwambina FC], Iddy Seleman [Azam FC].

Source: CAF