The fastest women’s 100m time will be under serious attack on Sunday, May 23 as three sprint Queens – Sha’Carri Richardson, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce and Elaine Thompson-Herah clash at the Müller Grand Prix Diamond League meet.

The much anticipated blockbuster on the southern bank of the river Tyne [Gateshead] is predicted to outdoor who the real sprint ‘nanny’ is going into the summer Olympic Games in Tokyo, Japan.

Affectionately known as the ‘Pocket Rocket,’ Fraser-Pryce holds the fourth-fastest time [10.70] ever in history behind three American sprinters – Marion Jones [10.65], Carmelita Jeter [10.64], and Florence Griffith-Joyner [10.49]

Meanwhile, 2016 Summer Olympics 100m gold medallist – Thompson-Herah equaled Fraser-Pryce’s enviable time in 2016 to become joint-fourth on the list.

Richardson on the other hand became part of the exclusive list in April, 2021 having coasted of 10.72 seconds in Florida, making her the sixth-fastest of all time.

Apart from the marked trio, Dina Asher-Smith [Great Britain], Blessing Okagbare [Nigeria], and Natasha Morrison [Jamaica] will also line up in the blocks with the aim of causing upset.

Jamaican duo, Fraser-Pryce and Thompson-Herah have claimed 7 of the last 9 major games 100m Olympics and World Championship titles.

The only exceptions to that dominance is the 2011 World Championships which was won by Carmelita Jeter, and the 2017 World Championships, which was won by Torrie Bowie.