Newly minted holders Real Madrid are among eight teams seeded in Pot 1 for the 2017/18 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on 24 August along with the returning Spartak Moskva and, following Saturday’s result in Cardiff, Shakhtar Donetsk, as 22 clubs are now confirmed for next season’s competition.

Thanks to a system that began in 2015/16, Pot 1 for the group stage draw is formed by the holders and the champions of the top seven national associations as per the UEFA association club coefficient rankings at the end of season 2015/16 that formed the 2017/18 access list.

But since Madrid won both the UEFA Champions League and the Spanish Liga, the newly vacated spot in Pot 1 is taken by the champions of the eighth-ranked association, Shakhtar Donetsk.

The remaining three pots will be formed as per the UEFA club coefficient rankings at the end of 2016/17.

Pot 1 for 2017/18 group stage draw

Holders: Real Madrid

Germany: Bayern München

England: Chelsea

Italy: Juventus

Portugal: Benfica

France: Monaco

Russia: Spartak Moskva

Ukraine: Shakhtar Donetsk

Current coefficients of other teams provisionally qualified for group stage

Barcelona (ESP) 151.999

Atlético Madrid (ESP) 142.999

Paris Saint-Germain (FRA) 126.333

Borussia Dortmund (GER) 124.899

Manchester City (ENG) 100.192

Porto (POR) 98.866

Manchester United* (ENG) 95.192

Tottenham Hotspur (ENG) 77.192

Basel (SUI) 74.415

Anderlecht (BEL) 58.840

Roma (ITA) 53.666

Beşiktaş (TUR) 45.840

Feyenoord (NED) 23.212

RB Leipzig (GER) 15.899

*Because the UEFA Champions League holders, Madrid, would have earned a group stage place via their domestic league, the UEFA Europa League winners

Manchester United are given a bye to the UEFA Champions League group stage rather than entering in the play-offs.

Places vacant

Play-offs: 10

If the access list needs to be adjusted once all the participants are known and admitted, priority for the UEFA Champions League will be given to the winners of the domestic championship (in accordance with the entry stage as per the access list). The adjusted list will be announced by UEFA.

The club coefficient rankings are based on results over the last five UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League campaigns.

As the UEFA Champions League winners will also have finished top of their domestic league, the champions of the eighth-ranked nation (Shakhtar Donetsk of Ukraine) will receive the eighth place in Pot 1.