The Ghana Olympic Committee (GOC) has named members of its sub-committees that will help steer the affairs of the Ben Nunoo Mensah’s led administration.

Nine sub-committees have been formed to work in line with the vision of the current administration of the GOC.

These committees are; Finance, Legal/Constitutional, Anti-Doping, Olympic Solidarity/Projects, Medical, National Federations Relations, Media Relations, Events/Programs and Fundraising, Sponsorship and Marketing.


The Finance Committee will advise the GOC Board on financial matters and asset management. It will also be responsible for the GOC’s budget and the financial statements to be submitted to the GOC Congress for approval.

It will be chaired by President of the Ghana Taekwondo Federation (GTF), Mr Frederick Lartey Otu who also doubles as the Treasurer of the GOC. Other members of the committee are;

• Albert Frimpong
• Mike Aggrey
• Isaac Duah
• Evans Yeboah
• Cillian Walsh
• Joseph Mingle


The mandate of the Legal and Constitutional Sub-Committee is to provide legal expertise to the Board and give recommendations regarding legal matters whenever needed.

They are also to assist the Board in drafting amendments to the Constitution and advise, if necessary, on agreements between GOC and third parties. This committee will be chaired by President of the Ghana Boxing Authority (GBA), Mr Peter Zwennes and will be assisted by;

• Mohammed Sahnoon
• Muniru Mohammed Kassim
• Jerry Ahmed Shaibu
• Eva Okyere


President of the Ghana Table Tennis Association (GTTA), Mr Mawuko Afadzinu will chair the Fundraising, Marketing and Sponsorship Sub-committee.

This committee has been tasked to market the GOC and raise funds from individuals, institutions and corporate Ghana to assist the Olympic movement and the various National Federations.

Below are the other members of the Fundraising, Marketing and Sponsorship Sub-committee;

• Herbert Mensah
• Richmond Quarcoo
• Mavis Amanor
• Osumanu Seidu
• Kenneth Ashigbey
• Cillian Walsh
• Yaw Sakyi Afari
• Maxwell Asabre
• Mahadi Mohammed
• Kofi Asare Brako


The medical sub-committee will be responsible for advising the GOC on all medical issues regarding sports in Ghana and also provide medical and sport science expertise for international games.

The committee will be chaired by the 1st Vice President of the GOC and President of the Ghana Volleyball Association (GVA), Mr Paul Atchoe. He will be assisted by renowned sports medical experts namely;

• Dr. Chris Akwesi Adomakoh
• Dr. Ken Aryeetey
• Dr. Marc Dzradosi
• Dr. Martin Engman
• Jonathan Quartey
• Dr. Julia Derban


The Olympic Solidarity and Projects sub-committee will among other things, oversee the implementation of all Olympic Solidarity and Commonwealth Games projects.

The Olympic Solidarity is mainly aimed at athlete development, training of coaches and sports administrators, and promoting the Olympic values. It will be chaired by the Secretary General of the GOC and President of the Ghana Hockey Association (GHA), Mr Richard Akpokavie. He will be assisted by;

• Dr. Michael Nunoo
• Theophilus Edzie
• George Addo
• Emmanuel Tetteh
• Mike Aggrey
• George Lamptey
• Samuel Tetteh Ayer
• Joshua Mensah


This committee will also be responsible for the planning of the GOC’s events and programmes.
Members of the committee are;

• Isaac Duah – Chair
• George Owusu Ansah – Director of Operations
• Leanier Obo Addy
• Melvin Brown
• A representative from the State Protocol Department (SPD)
• Aziz Aruna Futah
• Yaw Sakyi Afari
• Yaw Ampofo Ankrah
• Emmanuel Dormenya
• Husseini Akueteh Addy
• Charles Amofah
• Richmond Quarcoo


This committee has been set up to enhance a smooth and cordial relationship between the GOC Board and the various National Federations.

They shall also ensure that the National Federations are in compliance with their International Federations requirements like holding democratic elections and generally good governance practices.
The committee will be chaired by President of the Netball Association of Ghana (NAG), Rev. Emmanuel Nikoi and will be supported by eight other members.

Below is the composition of the National Federation Relations sub-committee;

• Arko Dadzie
• Nortey Dorwuona
• Stephen Asante Bekoe
• Abdul Hayye Yartey
• Christine Ashley
• Goodwill Agyemang
• Ebo Quansah
• Nana Kwame Danquah


The Anti-Doping sub-committee is to promote, coordinate and monitor the fight against doping use in Ghana sports. The committee’s key activities include liaising with the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) and Regional Anti Doping Organisation (RADO) to educate athletes, coaches and the general public on the effects of using drugs in sports. The committee is also to liaise with the Ministry of Sports in setting up a National Anti Doping Organisation (NADO) in Ghana.

The committee is made up of;

• Prof Joseph Ogah – Chair
• Prof. William Ampofo
• Dr. Deborah Cubagee
• Godwin Gulby
• Cynthia Kudjo
• Prince Osei Addo

Source: Ken Odeng Adade /GOC Secretariat