Benin’s French coach Michel Dussuyer is confident his wards can upstage Nigeria when both West African close neighbours clash in Saturday’s Group L match of the Total Africa Cup of Nations, Cameroon 2021 qualifications at Stade Charles de Gaulle in Porto Novo.

It looks like a cup final contest, as just a single point separates both sides. Nigeria currently sits on top of the group on 8 points, one more than second placed Benin, with the hosts hopeful of avenging their 2-1defeat in the reverse fixture.

A win for Benin on Saturday will secure their AFCON qualification for only the fifth time, and a consecutive one after 2004, 2008, 2010 and 2019 editions.

Dussuyer, who had previously managed Cote d’Ivoire and Guinea, said the Squirrels will press for a win on Saturday, after naming his 23-man squad, in addition to unattached Stéphane Sessegnon as the “team’s motivator”.

“On Saturday, our ambition is to win. It will not be an easy task, but we have hopes,” said Dussuyer.

“Stéphane Sessegnon is selected as a special guest. He is not on the list of 23. He is called for his leadership and will participate in training sessions.”

After hosting Nigeria on Saturday, Benin will be away to the Leone Stars of Sierra Leone on March 30 at the National Stadium in Freetown.


Goalkeepers: Saturnin Allagbé (Dijon/France), Fabien Farnolle (Sidama Cofee/ Ethiopia), Marcel Dandjinou (JDR Stars/South Africa)

Defenders: Youssouf Assogba (Amiens/France), Séidou Barazé (SC Shiltigheim/France), Khaled Adenon (USAvranches/France), Moïse Adilèhou (Breda/Netherlands), Cédric Hountondji (Clermont/France), Yohan Roche (Rodez/France), David Kiki (PFC Montana/Bulgaria), Emmanuel Imorou (Évian TGG/France)

Midfielders: Sessi d’Almeida (Valenciennes/France), Jordan Adéoti (Annecy FC/France), Anaane Tidjani (Menemenspor/Turkey), Rodrigue Kossi (Club Africain/Tunisia), Mattéo Ahlinvi (Nîmes/France), Jérôme Agossa (Djoliba AC /Mali)

Forwards: Michaël Poté (Bandirmaspor/Turkey), Cebio Soukou (Bielefeld/Germany), Jodel Dossou (Clermont/France), Marcellin Koukpo (CR Belouizdad/Algéria), Steve Mounié (Brest/France), Jacques Bessan (Olympique Béjà/Tunisia).

Source: CAF