Liverpool FC became the champions of England on Thursday night as Chelsea’s 2-1 victory over Manchester City at Stamford Bridge paved the way for the Reds to become the ‘earliest’ champions to win the Premier League.

The last time Liverpool won the league was in 1990 under the supervision of Kenny Dalglish, but Jurgen Klopp’s side have done it with seven matches to play. The point difference between Liverpool [first on the table] and Manchester City [second] is 23 points.

“I have no words, it’s unbelievable. It’s much more than I ever thought would be possible, becoming champion with this club is absolutely incredible,” Jurgen Klopp who is the eighth manager to try to emulate what Dalglish did said.

“I can only say (to the supporters), it’s for you, it’s for you out there,” he added.

Even with the 30 year wait before lifting the title, Liverpool have 19 league titles, only Manchester United [20] have more titles than the Reds.

Despite losing the title to Manchester City last season, Liverpool were able to accumulate a staggering 97 points.

Liverpool’s title stats

Liverpool have won the 2019-20 Premier League, their first title since the competition began in 1992-93. It is their 19th top-flight crown in all and their first since 1990; only Manchester United (20) have been champions of England more times.

Liverpool have now been crowned champions of England in eight different decades (the 1900s, 1920s, 1940s, 1960s, 1970s, 1980s, 1990s and the 2020s); this is more than any other club.

The gap of 30 years between Liverpool’s last title in 1990 and this year is the eighth longest between two top-flight championships by any side in England, and the longest since Manchester City won the 2011-12 Premier League, 44 years after their previous top tier title in 1968.

During the 2019-20 campaign, Liverpool broke a host of records as they ran away with the title.

Between October 2019 and February 2020, the Reds won 18 consecutive league matches, a joint-record by any club in the English top-flight. Remarkably, this run came after Jürgen Klopp’s side had also embarked upon a 17-match winning streak between March and October 2019, which is also the third-longest such run in the Premier League.

While their record winning streak was ended by Watford in February, Liverpool ultimately achieved an unbeaten run of 44 Premier League matches from January 2019 to that game in February this year – second only to Arsenal’s 49-game run ending in 2004 in the history of the England’s top division.

Liverpool broke a record of their own at Anfield; from February 2019 to June 2020, the Reds won all 23 of their home league games, surpassing their own previous top-flight record of 21 home wins in a row set under Bill Shankly in 1972.

During their 2019-20 season, Liverpool beat all 19 of the other sides in the Premier League, the last of which being West Ham in January; by this stage, the Reds had won 23 of their first 24 Premier League games of the campaign (D1), and had beaten every other side they had faced in a single top-flight season for the very first time in the club’s history.

While the suspension of the season in March prevented the Reds from breaking the record for earliest date to win the Premier League title, the club still won the league with a record number of games left to spare.

After Manchester City’s 2-1 loss to Chelsea on June 25th, Liverpool were confirmed as Premier League champions with seven games of their season left to play; this is the most fixtures remaining of any side upon confirming the English top-flight title in history.