By James K. Attaglo Wilson

Scotland’s most decorated hockey player Rhona Simpson has been chosen by the Commonwealth Games Federation [CGF] to chair its first ever Athletes Advisory Commission.

Rhona Simpson’s appointment was authenticated at a recently held Commonwealth Games Federation Executive Board meeting in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

The purpose of the Athletes Advisory Commission among other things is to engage and represent the athletes views and help understand and grow the profile, meaning and impact of Commonwealth Athletes.

On accepting her appointment, Rhona Simpson said she [together with her team] is hoping to deliver the best and most inclusive sporting experience for Commonwealth athletes.

“We have been given a far-reaching mandate to not just participate in Games and board decision-making but empower Commonwealth athletes to advance the aims and objectives of the Commonwealth Sports Movement. I’d like to sincerely thank all of the newly-appointed Commission members, and I look forward to working alongside them to help develop and deliver the best and most inclusive-possible sporting experience for Commonwealth athletes at all levels,” she noted.

Meanwhile, Louise Martin [President of the Commonwealth Games Federation] believes that the chosen athletes will help shape the future direction through and beyond the Gold Coast 2018 Games.

“Commonwealth athletes are ambassadors of a great movement whose purpose has been carried and shared across decades, across generations and across borders. As we recognised in Transformation 2022, the creation of an Athletes Advisory Commission affirms our commitment to being an athlete-centred, sport-focused movement. We are thrilled and thankful that such a diverse and decorated group of inspiring sports leaders, representing each of our regions, will help shape the future direction of this vitally important initiative through Gold Coast 2018 and beyond.”

Rhona Simpson
Rhona Simpson
In addition to Rhona Simpson, the other Commission members includes:

• Ms Natalie Du Toit (para-sport representative): South Africa, Swimming, seven-time Commonwealth Gold medallist at 2002, 2006 and 2010 Games;

• Dr Nicole Forrester: Canada, Athletics (High Jump), Commonwealth Gold medal (2010) and Bronze (2002);

• Mr Colin Gregor: Scotland, Rugby Sevens, 2006 and 2014 Games and Captain from 2009-2014;

• Mr E Niluka Rushan Karunaratne: Sri Lanka, Badminton, 2006, 2010 and 2014 Games;

• Mr Lechezdani Luza: Botswana, Boxing (51kg), 2006 and Commonwealth Silver medallist at 2002 Games;

• Ms Alison Shanks: New Zealand, Track Cycling, 2006 and Commonwealth Gold medallist (3000m Individual Pursuit) at 2010 Games;

• Mr Brendan Williams: Dominica, Athletics (High Jump), 2010 and 2014 Games.

The Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games [GC2018] will start from April 04 to 15.

Follow us on twitter @sports24gh| Facebook – sports24gh