By James K. Attaglo Wilson

Team England has updated its team ahead of the 2018 Commonwealth Games in Queensland, Australia following the withdrawal of Danny Talbot and Ben Williams through injury.

The duo have been replaced with Richard Kilty [sprinter] and Sophie McKinna [shot putter].

“Absolutely ecstatic to say I’ve been selected for my second Commonwealth Games!” McKinna wrote via her Twitter handle.

Kilty who had to end his IAAF world indoor championship prematurely due to a slight Achilles problem has recovered in time to take part in the men’s 200m as well as the 4x100m relay, while Sophie McKinna completes the shot put team which includes Rachel Wallader and Amelia Strickler.

Richard Kilty was part of the 4x100m team that won silver for England at the edition of the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, Scotland whiles McKinna finished fifth in the women’s shot put.

Below is the England team for Gold Coast 2018:

Sophie McKinna
Sophie McKinna

100m: Adam Gemili

200m: Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Zharnel Hughes, Richard Kilty

400m: Matt Hudson-Smith

800m: Kyle Langford, Elliot Giles, Andrew Osagie

1500m: Charlie Grice

10,000m: Andy Vernon

110m hurdles: Andrew Pozzi, Dave King

400m hurdles: Jack Green, Jacob Paul

20km walk: Tom Bosworth, Callum Wilkinson

High jump: Robbie Grabarz, Tom Gale, Chris Baker

Pole vault: Adam Hague, Luke Cutts

Long jump: Dan Bramble

Triple jump: Nathan Fox, Nathan Douglas

Hammer: Nick Miller, Taylor Campbell

Decathlon: Ashley Bryant, John Lane

4x100m: Gemili, Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Mitchell-Blake, Hughes, Kilty

4x400m: Hudson-Smith, Dwayne Cowan, Rabah Yousif, Martyn Rooney, George Caddick


100m: Asha Philip

200m: Dina Asher-Smith, Bianca Williams

800m: Alex Bell, Shelayna Oskan-Clarke, Adelle Tracey

1500m: Sarah McDonald, Jess Judd, Katie Snowden

5000m: Laura Weightman

100m hurdles: Alicia Barrett, Tiffany Porter

400m hurdles: Meghan Beesley, Jessica Turner

3000m steeplechase: Rosie Clarke, Iona Lake

20km walk: Gemma Bridge

High jump: Morgan Lake, Bethan Partridge

Pole vault: Holly Bradshaw, Lucy Bryan, Molly Caudery

Long jump: Lorraine Ugen, Shara Proctor, Jazmin Sawyers

Shot put: Rachel Wallader, Amelia Strickler, Sophie McKinna

Discus: Jade Lally

Hammer: Sophie Hitchon

Heptathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Niamh Emerson, Katie Stainton

Marathon: Alyson Dixon, Sonia Samuels

4x100m: Philip, Asher-Smith, Williams, Corinne Humphreys

4x400m: Emily Diamond, Finette Agyapong, Anyika Onuora, Perri Shakes-Drayton, Margaret Adeoye, Cheriece Hylton.

The 2018 Commonwealth Games [GC2018] starts from April 04-15.

Follow us on twitter @sports24gh|| Facebook – sports24gh|| Instagram – sports24gh