Headline sponsor of the Sports Writers Association of Ghana’s Awards [MTN Ghana] has congratulated the SWAG for adapting technology in its last elections held on Saturday, October 5.

In their congratulatory message signed by Senior Manager, Corporate Communications – Mrs Georgina Fiagbenu, the mobile telecommunication giants wished the Executives the very best in their tenure and charged them to continue in their efforts in making SWAG a better and stronger brand.

The letter also applauded SWAG for adopting technology in the election process.

“As a digital leader, MTN is excited about the use of technology to conduct your elections and we will like to commend the association for the bold step taken in that regard.

“We urge you to keep up the good work and explore other innovative ways of enhancing the operations of the association.”

SWAG in October, 2019 went to the polls to elect new executives through an e-ballot where branches across the country had its members voting digitally. The following members retained their positions; Kwabena Yeboah [President], Maurice Quansah [Vice President], Rosalind Koramah Amoh [Treasurer], and Thomas Boakye-Agyeman [Deputy General Secretary].

Former Executive Committee [EXCO) member, Charles Osei Asibey contested for the General Secretary position and won with ease, polling 98 votes as against Nana Prempeh’s 20 votes. The new EXCO members are; Barimah Boadaa Otuo Acheampong and Augustine Ohene Brenya Bampoe.

The partnership between the leading telecommunications brand in Ghana [MTN] and SWAG spans over a decade as the former has been headlining the oldest awards event in the country.