Two former players representing different generations of Cameroonian football, Stephen Tataw and Salomon Olembe will assist the draw process for the final tournament of the Total African Nations Championship Cameroon 2020.

The duo will assist CAF Director of Competitions, Samson Adamu to conduct the draw on Monday, 17 February 2020, at Palais Polyvalent des Sports de Yaoundé in the Cameroonian capital, Yaounde, at 19H00 local time (18H00 GMT).

Tataw and Olembe will add some glamour to the event to be attended Cameroonian Minister of Sports and Physical Education, Narcisse Mouelle Kombi , CAF President Ahmad Ahmad, members of Local Organising Committee amongst others.

Tataw is unarguably one of the greatest Cameroonian players of all time. He was the captain of the famous ‘Class of 1990’ that made global headlines at the 1990 FIFA World Cup in Italy before painfully crashing out at the quarter finals, the farthest by an African team at the time. The right back also captained the Lions at the 1994 FIFA World Cup in the USA. The highlight of his career was winning the Africa Cup of Nations in 1988 in Morocco. He played for local clubs Tonnere Yaounde and Olympic Mvolye before joining Tosu Future in 1995, becoming the first African to play in Japan.

Tataw is now a staff of the Technical Directorate of the Cameroon Football Federation.

On the other hand, Olembe was a mainstay in the Indomitable Lions midfield between 1997 and 2007. His over 60 caps for Cameroon includes participation in two FIFA World Cups, 1998 (France) and 2002 (Japan & Korea). He was present at five Africa Cup of Nations, winning the title in 2000 and 2002.

Olembe is famous for his five-year stint with Nantes, where he won the French Ligue 1 during the 2000/01 season.

Then after came spells with Olympique Marseille (France), Leeds United, Wigan Athletic (England), Al Rayyan (Qatar), Kayserispor (Turkey) and Larissa (Greece), before retiring in 2010.

Currently, he serves as Team Manager of the Indomitable Lions.

The qualified teams for the draw of the sixth edition of footballers playing in their domestic leagues are;

Host – Cameroon

Central Zone – Congo, DR Congo

Central-East Zone – Rwanda, Uganda, Tanzania

North Zone – Morocco, Libya

Southern Zone – Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe

West ‘A’ Zone – Guinea, Mali

West ‘B’ Zone – Burkina Faso, Niger, Togo

The final tournament will be held from 4-25 April 2020 in the cities of Yaounde, Douala and Limbe.

Source: cafonline