By James K. Attaglo Wilson|

The Confederation of African Football [CAF] has relieved Kenya of its hosting right of the 2018 Championship of African Nations [CHAN] tournament.

The decision was announced at a football cabinet meeting chaired by the President [Ahmad Ahmad] in Accra, Ghana on Saturday, September 23, 2017.

There were speculations that Kenya was going to be stripped of the right to host the CHAN due to slow preparations of the tournament which starts on January 12-4 February.

For instance, only one out of the four venues was ready for the competition the last time the CAF inspection team visited Kenya. Others also believe that the seemingly political tension in Kenya could be the underlying factor.

The fifteen countries who have qualified for the 2018 CHAN tournament are; Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Congo Brazzaville, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Sudan, Uganda, and Zambia.

The Championship of African Nations [CHAN] tournament is a special tournament instituted for home grown players.