Adam Gemili, Nathan Douglas, Steph Twell and Vanessa Wallace have been elected to the UK Athletics (UKA) Athletes’ Commission.

They will serve a minimum two-year term.

Olympic and world sprint finalist Adam Gemili joins the Commission following his spell as an ex-officio member, while two-time European triple jump silver medallist Nathan Douglas and European and Commonwealth track medallist Steph Twell are elected for the first time.

World F34 shot put bronze medallist Wallace is re-elected to the Commission, having first been elected in 2018.

Hannah England, chair of the Commission, said: “The Athletes’ Commission is delighted to welcome new members Adam, Nathan and Steph, and congratulate Vanessa on being re-elected for a second term.

“We were so glad to see the quality and quantity of applicants this year and to see the voting numbers rise in this, our second, election. This high engagement further emphasises the importance of the athlete voice in our sport.

“We look forward to working hard to continue our representation of our athlete community and collaborating with UK Athletics and the HCAFs to create the best possible environment for welfare and performance.

“Lastly, on behalf of the Commission, I would like to thank departing members, Abdul Buhari, John Pares and Richard Yates, for their time and energy over the first three years of the UKAAC.”

Joanna Coates, CEO of UKA, added:

“Congratulations to Adam, Nathan and Steph on their election, and Vanessa on her re-election, to the UK Athletics Athletes’ Commission. These four individuals join at an incredibly important time for the sport. Working alongside Hannah and the other members, their insight will be invaluable as we continue to strive to amplify the voices of our athletes across the sport.

“We are committed to putting athletes at the heart of what we do, and I look forward to working with all members of the Commission to achieve that goal in the years ahead.”

Holly Bradshaw, Ashley Bryant, Dan Greaves, Andrew Heyes, Stephen Miller, Naomi Ogbeta and Richard Whitehead complete the 12-strong Commission.

Source: AW