This year’s Sprite Ball Championship tips off on Friday, January 11 and ends a day later on January 12 at the El Wak Stadium in Accra.

The 2019 edition of Ghana’s biggest high school basketball tournament has 20 schools competing for honours in the Girls and Boys Divisions respectively.

Despite the reduced number of competing teams from 26 last year to 20 this year, talk of player eligibility remains high on the list of stakeholders.

In the 2018 edition, the competition was rocked by a slew of players who were not qualified to play in the competition feature for various schools.

Former winners Keta Senior High Technical School and T.I. Ahmadiyya Senior High School and Mawuli Senior High School were involved in such nefarious acts last year.

This resulted in bans for all three schools involved after investigations were conducted and proved allegations leveled at the trio true.

Ahead of this weekend’s competition, gathers stringent measures have been put in place to avoid a repeat of the above mentioned issue. Teams have been instructed to issue their full roster for inspection and cross referencing prior to jump ball on Friday.