South Africa’s National Under-20’s [Amajita] technical team announced the 21-man squad that is to represent South Africa in the upcoming 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup.

That international footballing event is set to take place in Poland from 23 May to 15 June.

Amajita’s assistant coach Helman Mkhalele, who is standing in for coach Thabo Senong who is dealing with a private family matter back in South Africa, said that this was not an easy process to go through given the talented list of players they had brought into their provisional squad.

Senong and his technical staff had roped in 26 players, five out of which had to cut out before the final 21-man squad list was to be submitted to FIFA.

“This was not an easy process to go through given the fact that we had a very good list of talented players in our provisional squad,” Mkhalele said. “We had constant engagements with our head coach during his selection process, and that enabled us to select what we regard as the best squad for the upcoming World footballing competition.

In the World Cup, Amajita are pitted in Group F alongside Argentina, Korea Republic and Portugal. A top two finish in their group will guarantee them a place in the knockout stages of the tournament.

Mkhalele stated that they have already done their homework on their upcoming Group F opponents, adding that they will also do everything their power to make the country proud.

“We already had a look at our upcoming World Cup opponents and we already know how they are going to approach their group fixtures,” Mkhalele said. “Our preparation camp was centered around assembling a squad which would be able to match our Group F opponents and possibly fight to progress into the knockout stages of the tournament. This is going to require a whole lot of hard work. However, I believe that we have assembled a squad which has the right attitude and mindset to do just that.”

Below is the full squad;

GoalKeepers: Khulekani Walter KUBHEKA, Kopano Lehlohonolo THUNTSANE, Glen Tumelo BAADJIES

Defenders: Brendon Thabo MOLOISANE, Keenan ABRAHAMS, Givemore KHUPE, Keenan Leigh PHILLIPS, Fezile GCABA, Gadinkame Molebogo MODISE, Sbusiso Gideon MABILISO

Midfielders: Siphesihle Elwin MKHIZE, Oswin Reagan APPOLLIS, Promise Lebo MKHUMA, Njabulo BLOM, Luvuyo Howard PHEWA, Kobamelo KODISANG, Luke Gareth LE ROUX

Forwards: Leo THETHANI, James Thabiso MONYANE, Lyle Brent FOSTER, Thakgalo Khanya LESHABELA.

Source: SAFA